Jan 1, 2011

It's a world within a world.

Inside that world, enemy snipers rain their fire down on U.S. soldiers as they patrol the streets of some strange and faraway urban war zone.

Dec 10, 2010

Dr. Lawrence Prochaska was appointed to the editorial board as a review editor of the journal Frontiers in Mitochondrial Physiology in November.

Nov 15, 2010

Wayne Carmichael, retired Professor of Biological Sciences and director of the ES PhD program from 2003 to 2007, continues to provide advice and training on harmful algae blooms of cyanobacteria (CyanoHABs). While State and local Ohio officials worked to understand and manage toxic cyanobacteria (blue-green algae) this past summer, in Ohio’s Grand Lake, near the cities of Celina and St Marys, see: http://www....

Oct 5, 2010

At our annual fall gathering of program students and faculty, Dr. Cipollini (back row, far left) introduced our incoming class of 2010 which includes (clockwise from Dr. Cipollini) Renalda Munubi, Shishir Adhikari, Behzad Ghanbarian, Lumeng Huang, Nora Hunter and Samantha Davis in addition to Holly Schlotman and Phuong Khanh Nguyen (not pictured).

Sep 15, 2010

Professor Chad Hammerschmidt of the Earth and Environmental Sciences Department and Professor Tom Rooney of the Department of Biological Sciences were recently recognized for their achievements at early stages in their careers. Over the last 7 years, six of our program faculty have been recognized with this honor.

Sep 13, 2010

A chargeback system is in the works for EAF and will be implemented in the coming months. This system will generate funds for the continued operation of the equipment in EAF. The intent is to cover the consumables costs as well as regular maintenance costs. Personnel costs are currently being covered primarily by CoSM with additional support from RSP. Currently, there is no commitment of support for equipment replacement costs.

Aug 11, 2010

At the annual meeting of the Ecological Society of America meeting during August 1-6 in Pittsburgh, eight ES Ph.D. faculty and four ES Ph.D. students were coauthors on a total of 12 oral and poster presentations. ES Ph.D. faculty were also co-organizers of 3 organized oral sessions.

Aug 11, 2010

Laxminath Tumburu successfully defended his dissertation on August 6, entitled “Crustacean endocrine disruption through a pathway involving nuclear receptors, cyclic nucleotides, and calcium transporters”. He was advised by Dr. Michele Wheatly, current provost at West Virginia University. After sorting through offers from four postdoctoral research positions, Lax has accepted a prestigious National Academy of Sciences postdoctoral fellowship to work in a USEPA lab in Corvallis, Oregon on...

Jul 30, 2010

Amy Burgin (EES) was recently awarded a grant from the National Science Foundation’s Ecosystems panel. The project is a collaborative effort between Burgin and Dr. Emily Bernhardt (Duke University) and Dr. Geoff Poole (Montana State University). Their project is entitled: Coupled Carbon, Nitrogen and Sulfur Cycling in Coastal Plain Wetlands: How will climate change and saltwater intrusion alter ecosystem dynamics? Coastal plain wetlands, primarily found in the southeastern US, occupy a...

Jul 22, 2010

The nomination letter from the physics department concluded with the following words:

"All in all, Dr. Koenig has not only successfully carried out all of the duties expected of an early-career faculty but has exceeded many of them in more ways than one. She is deserving of the presidential early career award for the transformations she has brought to the department, the college and the university, and for some of the national attention she has brought to us all."




View all university news