Jun 10, 2009

Dr. Rebecca Tuttle, a resident in the WSU General Surgery Residency Program, won the 2nd Place Research Poster Award at the 10th Annual DAGMEC Resident and Fellow Research Forum.

Jun 10, 2009

Dr. Rajesh Naik, adjunct professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, has been elected a SPIE Fellow in recognition of significant service to SPIE and the international optics community.

Jun 10, 2009

Christopher Vaiana, master's candidate, won the 2009 Outstanding Graduate Student award.

Jun 10, 2009

Katie Leonard and Andrew Whitlatch, Ph.D. students, received first and second place awards for their talks at the 2009 Biomedical Sciences Ph.D. Program Retreat.

Jun 10, 2009

Dr. Yong-jie Xu's cancer research project, "Phosphorylation network of the DNA replication checkpoint in fission yeast," has been funded by the Ohio Cancer Research Associates.

Jun 10, 2009

Dr. Michael Leffak received two NIH R01 awards over the past several months: "Analysis of the human c-myc gene replication origin" (four-year award) and "The role of the DNA unwinding element binding protein, DUE-B, in DNA replication" (two years).

Jun 10, 2009

Dr. Lubna Abu-Niaaj has joined the Leffak laboratory as a postdoctoral fellow. Dr. Abu-Niaaj comes from Indiana State University, where she worked on the cloning and expression analysis of the Suppressors of Cytokine Signaling, Socs1 and Socs3. Her postdoctoral work will focus on the role of the DNA unwinding element binding protein, DUE-B, in the initiation of DNA replication and checkpoint signaling.

Jun 1, 2009

Karen Simpson was selected for a full scholarship to attend the Santa Fe Institute Complex Systems Summer School in New Mexico held from June 7-July 4.

May 11, 2009

Katherine Kapo, who will graduate in Spring 2009 as the fifth graduate of the ES Ph.D. program, is being honored as our program's recipient of the Graduate Excellence award for 2009 from the School of Graduate Studies. She tackled a unique and exciting topic in the risk assessment of watersheds and aquatic ecosystems which provided statistically based rankings of stressors that impaired aquatic life. She has published two papers in excellent international journals and a technical report for...

May 10, 2009

Dr. Dan Organisciak, director of the Petticrew Research Laboratory, has been named a Gold Fellow of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO). The honor was bestowed on him and about 25 other vision scientists at the ARVO meeting held in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, May 3-7, 2009.



View all university news