Undergraduate Research and Experiential Learning (UREL)

Opportunities

Learn about research positions, courses, and other experiential learning opportunities.

Points of contact for Undergraduate Research and Experiential Learning (UREL) within the departments are faculty or staff members who have agreed to help students find research and internship experiences within their departments.

On this page:

Research Related Academic Coursework

Department Course Credit Hours
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology BMB 4950: Honors Research in Biochemistry 1–10 credit hours
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology BMB 4990: Undergraduate Research 1–15 credit hours
Biological Sciences BIO 4880: Independent Reading 1 credit hour
Biological Sciences BIO 4950: Senior Honors Research 1–3 credit hours
Biological Sciences BIO 4990: Special Problems in Biology 1–3 credit hours
Biological Sciences BIO 4900: Biology Internship 3–8 credit hours
Biological Sciences BIO 3920: Departmental Honors Seminar 1 credit hour
Biological Sciences BIO 4000: Senior Capstone 1 credit hour
Biological Sciences BIO 4080: Writing in the Biological Sciences 3 credit hours
Chemistry CHM 4990: Special Problems in Chemistry 1–5 credit hours
Chemistry CHM 4880: Independent Reading in Chemistry 1–4 credit hours
Chemistry CHM 4900: Critical Literature Analysis 1 credit hour
Earth and Environmental Sciences EES 3100: Earth Science Research 3 credit hours
Earth and Environmental Sciences EES 3990: Special Problems in Earth and Environmental Sciences 0.5–5 credit hours
Earth and Environmental Sciences EES 4960: Senior Thesis Research 0.5–5 credit hours
Earth and Environmental Sciences EES 4990: Special Problems in the Earth and Environmental Sciences 0.5–5 credit hours
Earth and Environmental Sciences EES 4510: Effective Scientific Communication 3 credit hours
Math and Statistics MTH 4990: Selected Topics in Mathematics 1–3 credit hours
Math and Statistics STT 4960: Topics in Statistics and Probability 1–4 credit hours
Physics PHY 4940: Senior Project 3 credit hours
Physics PHY 4700: Selected Topics in Physics 1–3 credit hours
Psychology PSY 4060: Independent Research 1–4 credit hours
Psychology

PSY 4070: Honors Research Project

1–4 credit hours
Psychology PSY 4030 Practicum in Applied Psychology 3 credit hours
Psychology PSY 3010 Research Methods in Psychology I 4 credit hours
Psychology PSY 3020 Research Methods in Psychology II 4 credit hours
Psychology PSY 4050 Honors Seminar 2 credit hours

Department Points of Contact

Department Contact Email
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Chad Campbell, Ph.D. chad.campbell@wright.edu
Biological Sciences Scott Baird, Ph.D. scott.baird@wright.edu
Chemistry Ioana Pavel Sizemore, Ph.D. ioana.pavel@wright.edu
Earth and Environmental Sciences David Schmidt, Ph.D. david.schmidt@wright.edu
Math and Statistics Abbey Sharp (Assistant to the Chair) abby.sharp@wright.edu
Neuroscience, Cell Biology, and Physiology Thomas L. Brown, Ph.D. thomas.l.brown@wright.edu
Physics Jason Deibel, Ph.D. jason.deibel@wright.edu
Psychology Gary Burns, Ph.D. gary.burns@wright.edu