Sep 9, 2008

Arijit Guin and Ramya Ramanathan are ES Ph.D. students in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, advised by Profs. Bob Ritzi and David Dominic. They have been supported on the three NSF grants listed below. Their work aims to develop a high resolution model for the processes of subsurface fluid flow and mass transport. They are using a geometry-based approach to simulate the stratal architecture of the subsurface and the corresponding heterogeneous aquifer properties developed...

Aug 18, 2008

Wright State ES Ph.D. faculty and students co-authored 24 presentations at the annual meeting of the Ecological Society of America in Milwaukee on August 3-8. Presentations were authored by ES faculty John Stireman, Tom Rooney, Yvonne Vadeboncoeur, Jim Runkle, and Don Cipollini, along with ES students Sean Devlin, Jim Milks, and Jeremy Heath. This was by far the largest contingent that Wright State has ever sent to the Ecology meetings and is a sure sign of Wright State's growing influence...

Jun 14, 2008

Drs. Sweta Bose and Kathryn Barto received their Ph.D. degrees after successful defenses of their dissertations in Spring 2008. Congratulations to the program's first Ph.D. recipients!

Jun 11, 2008

Kathryn Barto, who will graduate in Spring 2008 as the second graduate of the ES Ph.D. program, was recently honored as our program's recipient of the Graduate Excellence award for 2008 from the School of Graduate Studies. Kathryn is often recognized as the leader of her cohort and is a recipient of a competitive EPA GRO fellowship. She tackled a controversial topic in plant ecology and mastered a wide array of techniques and statistical tools in her research, which she can eloquently...

May 20, 2008

University of Dayton, leading a partnership with The Ohio State University, Wright State University, and Miami University were recommended for $23,448,718 in funding for a proposal to develop the Ohio Academic Research Cluster for Layered Sensing and enable the compilation of world-renowned layered sensing intellectual capital in Ohio to establish Ohio as the undisputed academic leader in layered sensing. Layered sensing is defined as taking a multitude of diverse and distinct sensor...

May 1, 2008

Rick Salisbury, an ES Ph.D. student in the lab of Dr. Courtney Sulentic in the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, won an Ohio Valley Society of Toxicology (OVSOT) student abstract competition and was given a monetary award in mid-April. Additionally, Rick was second runner-up and awarded a plaque for the student poster competition at the 2008 Toxicology and Risk Assessment Conference in Cincinnati, OH on April 16. The title of his award-winning presentation was "Role of NF-êB/Rel...

Jan 11, 2008

Dr. Chad Hammerschmidt, an assistant professor in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences has received word that a proposal, entitled "Mercury Biogeochemistry on the Continental Shelf and Slope." will be funded by the National Science Foundation-Chemical Oceanography program.

Aug 17, 2007
photo of john stireman

(L. A. Dyer, M. S. Singer, J. T. Lill, J. O. Stireman, G. L. Gentry, R. J. Marquis, R. E. Ricklefs, H. F. Greeney, D. L. Wagner, H. C. Morais, I. R. Diniz, T. A. Kursar, P. D. Coley. 2007. Host specificity of Lepidoptera in tropical and temperate forests. Nature 448, 696–699 (09 Aug 2007)

How many animal species are there and how are they distributed?

Recent studies of insect herbivore diversity and host range in tropical systems have suggested that early estimates of 50...

Aug 15, 2007
photo of christine powell

Christina Powell has been awarded a Greater Research Opportunities (GRO) fellowship from the United States EPA. These fellowships, which provde stipend, tuition, and research funds, are highly competitive.

Ms. Powell's topic is: Degradation of Potential of Chlorinated Ethenes in the Rhizosphere of Wetland Plants.

Jul 22, 2007

In 2007, then MS student Gian Guzman-Verri (now a PhD student at University of California, Riverside) discovered that a single-layer sheet of silicon can have so-called electronic Dirac cones, a property that has made graphene world-famous and led to the 2010 Nobel Prize in Physics. The flat sheet of silicon was named "silicene" in a paper published by Guzman-Verri and his advisor, Dr. Lew Yan Voon, in the...



View all university news