Wright State University Students win big at the Dayton Section American Chemical Society meeting.

Wright State Chemistry Poster Presenters at Dayton Chapter ACS Meeting

At the Annual Poster session at the American Chemical Society Dayton Section meeting on April 1st, four Wright State students were honored with awards for the best posters describing their research. Six awards were given, evenly split between undergraduate and graduate students. Two of the awards were sponsored by the Applied Spectroscopy Society and four by the Dayton Section. Winning the award for the best poster in the area of spectroscopy was Kevin Dorney, a graduate student guided by his research advisor, Associate Professor Ioana Sizemore. Awards for best poster in the area of chemistry were Kristy Wickman, a MS graduate student working with Professor William Feld; Jacky Bracco, an environmental sciences PhD student working with Professor Steven Higgins; and Bram Spienburg, a visiting undergraduate from the University of Utrecht, the Netherlands, who is an intern in the laboratory of Professor William Feld.

Also presented at the meeting were the Patterson College Awards, given to the highest ranked junior chemistry majors at each of the five universities with in the Dayton Section. The Chemistry Department at Wright State honored Corrie Spradlin with the award. Corrie graduated from Riverdale High School in Forrest Ohio. In addition to her coursework in chemistry, Corrie is part of Professor Suzanne Lunsford’s research group.