About the College of Science and Mathematics

photo of students in the diggs laboratoryThe Wright State University College of Science and Mathematics (CoSM) was founded in 1964 as one of the first two colleges of the new Dayton Campus of Miami University and Ohio State University. In 1964, CoSM was known as the College of Science and Engineering. In 1985, Wright Sate University established the College of Engineering and Computer Science and the College of Science and Mathematics. CoSM remains one of the largest colleges on campus.

The CoSM Interim Dean is Dr. Kathrin Engisch. She became Interim Dean in July 2015.  Dr. Engisch is an associate professor of neuroscience, cell biology and physiology, and served as associate dean for undergraduate education and outreach since 2012.

Past Deans of CoSM include, Yi Li(2011-2015), Dan Voss (2010-2011, Interim), Michele Wheatly (2002-2009), Robert Weisman (2001-2002, Interim), Roger Gilpin (1996-2001), Marc Low (1991-1996), Richard Millman (1986-1991), John Rossmiller (1984-1986, Interim), Brian Hutchings (1974-1984), and Robert Conley.

Currently, CoSM offers eight undergraduate programs (including 9 majors and 8 minors), 15 masters programs, and 4 Ph.D. programs. There are approximately 165 faculty within the college. In the Fall of 2014, there were 1866 registered students in the college (1442 undergraduate). The largest departments in the college in the Fall of 2014 were Biological Sciences and Psychology.

CoSM reaches every student at Wright State University with one of more of its classes whether or not they are a science or mathematics major through core education requirements.