Opportunities

Undergraduate Research & Experiential Learning

DUREL-Logo2.jpgWelcome! Learn about research positions, courses, internships, & other experiential learning opportunities below. Most of the opportunities are organized below based on departments and scientific disciplines. There are also tabs that will connect you to opportunities for internships at companies near and far as well as opportunities at the Wright Patterson Air Force Base Air Force Research Labs. Check these tabs often to learn of new opportunities within your discipline. Each tab also lists a point of contact for Undergraduate Research & Experiential Learning (UREL) within the department. These are faculty or staff members who have agreed to help students find research and internship experiences within their departments. Each tab also lists faculty members within each department who have registered with the CoSM UREL Faculty Network, thus indicating that they may have an opportunity open for new students. Research, Experience, Learn.

Biochemistry & Molecular Biology (BMB)

Department Chair: Professor Madhavi P. Kadakia (Chair)       madhavi.kadakia@wright.edu

UREL Point of Contact: Dr. Chad Campbell       chad.campbell@wright.edu

 #CoSM UREL Faculty Network Members (BMB)                       #Research Related Academic Coursework (BMB)               #Internship & Other Off-Campus Opportunities (BMB)


CoSM UREL Faculty Network Members (BMB)

1     To be announced...

 

Research Related Academic Coursework (BMB)

BMB 4950 Honors Research in Biochemistry 1 - 10 credit hours
BMB 4990 Undergraduate Research 1 - 15 credit hours

Internship & Other Off-Campus Opportunities (BMB)

1     To be announced

 

Biological Sciences (BIO)

Department Chair: Professor David Goldstein (Chair)       david.goldstein@wright.edu

UREL Point of Contact: To be announced...

#CoSM UREL Faculty Network Members (BIO)                       #Research Related Academic Coursework (BIO)               #Internship & Other Off-Campus Opportunities (BIO)


CoSM UREL Faculty Network Members (BIO)

Name Rank/Title Email Website/Profile
Katherine Excoffon Associate Professor katherine.excoffon@wright.edu http://science-math.wright.edu/people/katherine-excoffon
Lynn Hartzler Associate Professor lynn.hartzler@wright.edu http://science-math.wright.edu/people/lynn-hartzler

Research Related Academic Coursework (BIO)

BIO 4880 Independent Reading 1 credit hour
BIO 4950 Senior Honors Research 1 - 3 credit hours
BIO 4990 Special Problems in Biology 1 - 3 credit hours
BIO 4900 Biology Internship 3 - 8 credit hours
BIO 3920 Departmental Honors Seminar 1 credit hour
BIO 4000 Senior Capstone 1 credit hour
BIO 4080 Writing in the Biological Sciences 3 credit hours

Internship & Other Off-Campus Opportunities (BIO)

1     To be announced

Chemistry

Department Chair: Associate Professor David Grossie (Chair)       david.grossie@wright.edu

UREL Point of Contact: Associate Professor Ioana Pavel Sizemore       ioana.pavel@wright.edu

#CoSM UREL Faculty Network Members (CHEM)                      #Research Related Academic Coursework (CHEM)               #Internship & Other Off-Campus Opportunities (CHEM)


CoSM UREL Faculty Network Members (CHEM)

Name Rank/Title Email Website/Profile
Ioana Pavel Sizemore Associate Professor ioana.pavel@wright.edu http://science-math.wright.edu/people/ioana-e-p-sizemore

Research Related Academic Coursework (CHEM)

CHM 4990 Special Problems in Chemistry 1 - 5 credit hours
CHM 4880 Independent Reading in Chemistry 1 - 4 credit hours
CHM 4900 Critical Literature Analysis 1 credit hour

Internship & Other Off-Campus Opportunities (CHEM)

1. To be announced...

Earth & Environmental Sciences

Department Chair: Professor David Dominic (Chair)       david.dominic@wright.edu

UREL Point of Contact: Dr. David Schmidt       david.schmidt@wright.edu

#CoSM UREL Faculty Network Members (EES)                     #Research Related Academic Coursework (EES)               #Internship & Other Off-Campus Opportunities (EES)


CoSM UREL Faculty Network Members (EES)

Name Rank/Title Email Website/Profile
Chad Hammerschmidt Associate Professor chad.hammerschmidt@wright.edu http://science-math.wright.edu/people/chad-hammerschmidt

Research Related Academic Coursework (EES)

EES 3100 Earth Science Research 3 credit hours
EES 3990 Special Problems in Earth and Environmental Sciences 0.5 - 5 credit hours
EES 4960 Senior Thesis Research 0.5 - 5 credit hours
EES 4990 Special Problems in the Earth and Environmental Sciences 0.5 - 5 credit hours
EES 4510 Effective Scientific Communication 3 credit hours

Internship & Other Off-Campus Opportunities (EES)

1. To be announced...

Math/Statistics

Department Chair: Professor Ayse Sahin (Chair)       ayse.sahin@wright.edu

UREL Point of Contact: Abbey Sharp (Assistant to the Chair)       abby.sharp@wright.edu

#CoSM UREL Faculty Network Members (MathStats)                    #Research Related Academic Coursework (MathStats)               #Internship & Other Off-Campus Opportunities (MathStats)


CoSM UREL Faculty Network Members (MathStats)

Name Rank/Title Email Website/Profile
Steen Pedersen Professor steen.pedersen@wright.edu http://science-math.wright.edu/people/steen-pedersen

Research Related Academic Coursework (MathStats)

MTH 4990 Selected Topics in Mathematics 1 - 3 credit hours
STT 4960 Topics in Statistics and Probability 1 - 4 credit hours

Internship & Other Off-Campus Opportunities (MathStats)

1. To be announced...

Neuroscience, Cell Biology, Physiology

Department Chair: Professor Christopher Wyatt (Interim Chair)       christopher.wyatt@wright.edu

UREL Point of Contact: Professor Thomas L. Brown       thomas.l.brown@wright.edu

#CoSM UREL Faculty Network Members (NCP)                    #Research Related Academic Coursework (NCP)               #Internship & Other Off-Campus Opportunities (NCP)


CoSM UREL Faculty Network Members (NCP)

Name Rank/Title Email Website/Profile
Nancy Bigley Professor nancy.bigley@wright.edu http://people.wright.edu/nancy.bigley
Thomas L. Brown Professor thomas.l.brown@wright.edu http://people.wright.edu/thomas.l.brown
Adrian Corbett Associate Professor adrian.corbett@wright.edu http://people.wright.edu/adrian.corbett
Dan Halm Associate Professor dan.halm@wright.edu http://people.wright.edu/dan.halm
Debra Ann Mayes Assistant Professor debra.mayes@wright.edu http://people.wright.edu/debra.mayes
Patrick Sonner Instructor patrick.sonner@wright.edu http://people.wright.edu/patrick.sonner
Christopher Wyatt Associate Professor christopher.wyatt@wright.edu http://people.wright.edu/christopher.wyatt
       

Research Related Academic Coursework (NCP)

1. To be announced...

Internship & Other Off-Campus Opportunities (NCP)

1. To be announced...

Physics

Department Chair: Associate Professor Douglas Petkie (Chair)       doug.petkie@wright.edu

UREL Point of Contact: Associate Professor Jason Deibel (DUREL)       jason.deibel@wright.edu

#CoSM UREL Faculty Network Members (Physics)                    #Research Related Academic Coursework (Physics)               #Internship & Other Off-Campus Opportunities (Physics)


CoSM UREL Faculty Network Members (Physics)

Name Rank/Title Email Website/Profile
Jason Deibel Associate Professor jason.deibel@wright.edu http://people.wright.edu/jason.deibel
Ivan Medvedev Assistant Professor http://ivan.medvedev@wright.edu http://science-math.wright.edu/people/ivan-medvedev
Doug Petkie Associate Professor doug.petkie@wright.edu http://science-math.wright.edu/people/doug-petkie

Research Related Academic Coursework (Physics)

PHY 4940 Senior Project 3 credit hours
PHY 4700 Selected Topics in Physics 1 - 3 credit hours

Internship & Other Off-Campus Opportunities (Physics)

1. To be announced...

Psychology

Department Chair: Professor Debra Steele-Johnson (Chair)       debra.steele-johnson@wright.edu

UREL Point of Contact: Associate Professor Gary Burns       gary.burns@wright.edu

#CoSM UREL Faculty Network Members (Psychology)                    #Research Related Academic Coursework (Psychology)               #Internship & Other Off-Campus Opportunities (Psychology)


CoSM UREL Faculty Network Members (Psychology)

Name Rank/Title Email Website/Profile
Gary Burns Associate Professor gary.burns@wright.edu http://people.wright.edu/gary.burns

Research Related Academic Coursework (Psychology)

PSY 4060 Independent Research 1 - 4 credit hours
PSY 4070 Honors Research Project 1 - 4 credit hours
PSY 4030 Practicum in Applied Psychology 3 credit hours
PSY 3010 Research Methods in Psychology I 4 credit hours
PSY 3020 Research Methods in Psychology II 4 credit hours
PSY 4050 Honors Seminar 2 credit hours

Internship & Other Off-Campus Opportunities (Psychology)

1. To be announced...

Other Internship and On & Off-Campus Research Opportunities

If you apply to such a position and are fortunate to get an offer and accept it, please make sure to inform Career Services at WSU and DUREL.

STREAMS encourages members of under-represented minority groups and students with disabilities to conduct health-related research.

National Science Foundation Research Experience for Undergraduates (NSF-REU) Program - Spend your summer doing cutting edge-research while funded by NSF!

Be an intern at NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration)

Research Opportunties Published by the Council on Undergraduate Research

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics - Internship and Career Information in Industry, Research Institutions, and Government Labs

webGURU Guide for Undergraduate Research Program Listings

Pathways to Science has a great search engine designed to help you find undergraduate research positions (Check out their other resources as well)

2015 AMGEN SCHOLARS PROGRAM AT NIH

Mickey Leland Energy Fellowship (Department of Energy Summer Internship Program)

The Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) sponsors more than 50 research programs for undergraduate students at national laboratories and other federal research facilities in 24 states and some outside the United States.

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Science and Technology Directorate sponsors a 10-week summer internship program for students majoring in homeland security related science, technology, engineering and mathematics (HS-STEM) Disciplines.

Student Internships and Fellowships at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Department of Energy Internship Guide

Environmental Protection Agency Student Internships

Internship Opportunities at the Smithsonian